Office of the State Engineer Logo

Interstate Stream Commission


The Aamodt water rights adjudication affects both Pueblo and non-Pueblo water users in the Rio Nambe, Rio Pojoaque, and Rio Tesuque watershed. The four affected Pueblos are Nambe, Pojoaque, Tesuque, and San Ildefonso.

Current negotiations between the parties in the case resulted in the hiring of a Water Master as part of any resolution agreed upon.

Active Water Resource Management (AWRM)

The State Engineer has chosen the Nambe-Pojoaque-Tesuque as a priority basins in New Mexico for

Water Master Information and Reports

Water Masters - Santa Fe Office District 6

Aamodt Water Rights Settlements

The Aamodt Water Rights Settlement Agreement was developed through multi-party negotiations begun in 2000 between the Pueblos of Nambé, Pojoaque, Tesuque and San Ildefonso, the State of New Mexico, the United States of America, the City of Santa Fe, Santa Fe County and representatives of non-Pueblo water users to settle the Pueblos’ water right claims in the Pojoaque Basin.  An initial Settlement Agreement was signed in February 2006, and following the passage of the AamodtLitigation Settlement Act on December 8, 2010, Pub.L. No. 111-291, 124 Stat. 3064, 3134-3156, a final Settlement Agreement (conformed to include provisions of the Act) was signed by all parties, including the United States in its trust capacity, in March 2013.