Office of the State Engineer Logo

Interstate Stream Commission

Upper Colorado River Compact

Signed in 1948 by Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming, and approved by Congress in 1949, the compact creates the Upper Colorado River Commission(UCRC) to administer is provisions with members representing the United States, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. Arizona is not included.

The UCRC maintains an office and staff in Salt Lake City, Utah. Members of the Commission staff serve as engineering and legal advisers and assist the New Mexico Commissioner.