Office of the State Engineer Logo

Water Planning

Region 3 - Jemez y Sangre Regional Water Plan

Accepted by the ISC in 2003

The water planning region encompasses Los Alamos County and portions of Santa Fe and Rio Arriba Counties. The principal river basin is the Rio Grande. The major aquifer is the Teseque Formation (Santa Fe Group) The region is bounded on the north by the ridge above the Rio Embudo, a tributary of the Rio Grande, and by the Espanola City Limits; on the west by U S. Highway 285 and Sandoval County; on the south by the northern boundary of the Estancia Underground Basin in Santa Fe and Torrance counties, and on the east by San Miguel, Mora and Taos Counties.


Jemez y Sangre Water Planning Council

Council Meeting Information

Surface Capture Workshop

Technical Committee:

Relevant Materials